PenFed Home Equity Line of Credit (HELOC)
What PenFed Credit Union publishes: "Rates as low as 6.75%. Prime Rate is 6.750% as of December 12, 2025. The interest rate is subject to increase after consummation of the loan on monthly basis. Fixed Rate Advances: APR shall not exceed 18% and shall be equal to or greater than 6.750% for primary residences and second homes."
Variable rate = Prime plus a margin (margin not disclosed); advertised floor 6.75% tracks the Prime Rate quoted on the page. 18% is the stated cap for fixed-rate advances. The Prime Rate date printed on the page (December 12, 2025) is older than today's fetch, so verify the live rate before publishing.
The rate you are offered is set by PenFed Credit Union after you apply on its site. It depends on your credit history, income, loan amount and term, and may be higher than the lowest rate shown here.
| Loan amount | $25,000 to $500,000 |
| Term | up to 360 months |
| Rate type | variable |
| Funding speed | See lender |
| Origination fee | PenFed pays most closing costs (credit report, flood cert, settlement, recording, property search); member pays appraisal ($550-$850 average) and state/local taxes in FL, LA, MD, MN, NY, TN, VA |
| Prepayment penalty | Not stated |
| Late fee | Not stated |
| Minimum credit score | Not disclosed |
| States | all (special terms in Texas: $4, 000 minimum draw, 80% CLTV owner-occupied; member pays state/local taxes in FL, LA, MD, MN, NY, TN, VA) |
| Membership | Required, see the lender's eligibility rules |
- Origination fee PenFed pays most closing costs (credit report, flood cert, settlement, recording, property search); member pays appraisal ($550-$850 average) and state/local taxes in FL, LA, MD, MN, NY, TN, VA
- Borrow up to $500,000
- Credit union membership required
| Legal name | Pentagon Federal Credit Union |
| Type | Credit union |
| Website | https://www.penfed.org |
Other PenFed Credit Union offers on Banrox: PenFed Personal Loan, PenFed Auto Loan (new, used, refinance, car buying service).
Third-party lenders
Loan offers are provided by third-party lenders. Banrox is a technology company and is not a lender. Banrox does not take loan applications, make credit decisions or fund loans.
Compensation
Banrox may receive compensation from some lenders when you click or apply through links on this page. Compensation does not affect the rates shown, which are taken from each lender's public website as of the date displayed.
Rates and estimates
Rates, amounts, terms and fees are shown as published on the lender's website on the date marked above and may change without notice. The payment estimate uses the lowest APR the lender publishes and excludes origination and other fees; the lender's own disclosure governs. Nothing on this page is an offer, a rate quote or a commitment to lend.